Skip to content

Smashed green bean & tzatziki burgers

December 11, 2010

This is an adapted Ottolenghi recipe (I really love his recipes but I always want them to have a little more going on, a bit more flavour or punch).

You’ll need

  • 250g of soy beans (or broad beans). I used frozen ones from the asian supermarket.
  • a big handful of diced spinach or baby spinach (wilted with some hot water then drained)
  • 3/4 tsp of cumin, ground coriander and fennel seeds
  • 3 small waxy potatoes (cooked and peeled)
  • a green chilli (chopped)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 tsp of tumeric
  • 1 egg
  • a handful of dried breadcrumbs
  • 2 handfuls of diced coriander
  • half an onion finely chopped and lightly fried (until soft and golden)
  • 50g of shankleesh or fetta
  • a squeeze of lemon
  • salt and pepper

Tzatziki

  • 1 cup of yoghurt
  • a big squeeze of lemon
  • a pinch of cumin
  • some finely diced cucumber

To cook

Put the breadcrumbs, all the spices, garlic, chilli, soy beans (once defrosted), shankleesh, coriander, lemon, onion and egg in the food processor and give it a good blend. One done, put the mixture in a bowl and mash in the potatoes and add the spinach. Next, mix all the tzatziki ingredients together in a different bowl.

To cook the burgers, form into a patty with your hands and fry until brown in a dash of olive oil.

We found they went particularly well with beetroot relish

You may also like

Sweet & spicy beetroot relish

Carrot & saganaki fritters

Corn fritters with avocado salsa

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 6:06 pm

    This looks great! I just bought Cindy Ottolenghi’s ‘Plenty’ for her birthday – can’t wait to dive into it.

    • December 11, 2010 6:46 pm

      It is such a great book, everything we’ve cooked from it has been fantastic.

  2. December 12, 2010 4:20 pm

    Oh, my, this looks amazing!! I adore both broad beans and edamame, and all those spices sounds brilliant too. Thank you for sharing the recipe :)

  3. Thea permalink
    December 14, 2010 6:15 am

    this is just the kind of thing I want to eat next month.
    Since you’ve been here, I have noticed how albertans (canadians?) treat bacon like a vegetable. I can’t believe how much I’ve adjusted to the style. To my horror, I ate some poutine the other night and it didnt even cross my mind that it is disgusting.
    And we’ve eaten SO much deer (with a lot more to come- including an insanely large amount of sausage that chad is making with his hunting buddies) over the last couple of weeks… I need a vegetarian binge.

    • December 14, 2010 7:31 pm

      Well, you’re in good company (i.e. the Spanish). I can’t get enough veggies and asian food since geting back (Toronto’s idea of Pad Thai kinda freaked me out). Ps I picked up some of those maple biscuits on the way home. Simon LOVES them, can you get them in Australia?

  4. Thea permalink
    December 15, 2010 3:26 am

    Ah yes, jamon, a vegetable.

    I got those maple biscuits at Rio in adelade so I’m sure you can find them somewhere. If you have no luck i dont mind padding my suitcase with them

Leave a Reply

