Skip to content

Making Bastilla

November 22, 2010

 

Living in Melbourne, I thought I understood cold. Umm.. no. I think it’s physically impossible to understand -15 to -20 without actually experiencing it. Above is a picture of the North Saskatchewan River in Edmonton, where I’m staying with my best friend.

 

Last night there was a birthday celebration for Thea – Alberta-gastronomy style (read many animals wrapped in animals). We also made Bastilla, which I have always wanted to make but never worked up the impetus. Bastilla is a Moroccan dish of pigeon or guineafowl with egg and almonds made into a filo pastry pie (or fingers in our case) and sprinkled with cinnamon and icing sugar. Its got that wonderful Moroccan mix of savoury and sweet. I don’t actually have the recipe or a photo of the finished product (I’d drunk too much champagne by that stage and was far more interested in eating it than photographing it).

 

I have a recipe at home so perhaps I’ll give it a go. Until then, some photos:

Braising the fowl…

Thea using the “walk out freezer” to cool the stock…

The finished product before cooking…

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 8:37 pm

    love the top photo – it is 30 C today so we need some cooling photos – glad to hear you are enjoying yourself in Canada – make sure you don’t get your eyelashes frozen together (as I once heard a tale about)

    • November 23, 2010 3:34 am

      Oh gosh, I hadn’t even considered eyelash freezing!!

  2. December 3, 2010 9:37 am

    I thought it went really well with the sparkling wine!
    I’m sure I saw you writing the recipe down… maybe it was another from the book “Crazy Water, Pickled Lemons”
    And may I add- the animals wrapped in animals was not my idea. (But the vegan beans in a lard tart was, mia culpa)
    xo tip

    • December 3, 2010 11:15 am

      Ah, yeah that was a cheese cake recipe I was writing down :)

Leave a Reply

