Skip to content

Thai green chicken curry

May 21, 2010

So this is my last recipe for a while I’m afraid. We are off to Morocco and Spain for a fun and food filled adventure. For months I’ve been dreaming of smuggling home a couscoussier. When I went to Indonesia I made Simon carry all my clothes so I could bring home a pink R2d2 looking rice cooker. A couscoussier, however, I suspect will not fit in my bag, even if I do make Simon carry all my other belongings. Perhaps someone in my travelling party will speak good enough French to help me post it home.  Time will tell!

So I will leave you with a slightly adapted David Thompson green curry recipe.

You’ll need

  • 700g chicken thighs
  • oyster mushrooms
  • fresh coriander and thai basil
  • tbsp of palm sugar
  • tbsp of fish sauce
  • dash of lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk

Paste

  • 1 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 green cardamom pods
  • 10 white peppercorns
  • 1 tbs small chillies
  • 1 long green chilli, deseeded and roughly chopped – optional
  • good pinch of salt
  • 2 tbs chopped lemongrass
  • 1 tbs chopped galangal
  • 3 tbs chopped red shallots
  • 2 tbs chopped garlic
  • 2 tsp  turmeric
  • 1 tsp chopped coriander stalk
  • 1/2 tsp Thai shrimp paste

To cook

Pound (or blend, if feeling lazy) each of the ingredients together to form a smooth paste. Add to a hot wok and fry until fragrant. Add the chicken, then coconut milk and simmer for half an hour. Next, add the mushrooms followed by lemon juice, palm sugar and fish sauce to taste. Finish off with some fresh herbs, serve with rice and bean sprouts.

You may also like

Thai southern muslim chicken

Tasty thai steamed chicken

Chilli jam

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 10:21 pm

    The curry looks good. I think if you use eggplant instead of mushroom, it will be so perfect! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

