Skip to content

Lemon, poppy seed & yoghurt cake

April 8, 2010

Over Easter we held had an afternoon tea for some friends who are getting married and unveiled their (much anticipated) wedding present: two beautiful bent wood chairs. They are a bit special to say the least, with their embossed base:

While sniffing around other blogs for good afternoon tea options, I came across interesting sounding cake on a very cool blog called Funky Nomad Eats. Mine came out looking a bit fluffier than Adriana’s, and I think if I made it again I’d use half as much sugar again – the poppy seeds made it a little too savoury somehow. It’s a lovely afternoon tea cake though and the yoghurt makes it nice and fresh.

You’ll need

  • 4tbsp butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup of plain yoghurt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3 cups of plain flour
  • 10 tbsp caster sugar (I would add another 5 again)
  • 2/3 cup poppy seeds
  • juice and zest of two lemon
  • 3 plums thinly sliced

To cook

Cream the butter and sugar, then add the egg, yoghurt and lemon. Fold in the try ingredients. Once mixed, smooth the mixture into a baking tray and lay the sliced plums over the top.

You may also like

Lemon and mixed berry almond cake

Easy choc-banana cake

Semolina cookies with lemon

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 9:56 am

    This looks delicious. I love cakes with yogurt in them. I still remember those cupcakes you made at one of Ange’s parties. I’ve been using my Ottolenghi book non-stop since then!

  2. April 18, 2010 12:12 pm

    ahh, these cupcakes … https://soupurb.wordpress.com/2009/09/19/vanilla-cream-cakes-ange-this-is-for-you/

    You know I love that Ottolenghi book, but for some reason I just never end up making anything out of it. I’ve used two recipes (bother were great)… I must make a concerted effort to use it more.

Leave a Reply

