Skip to content

Pad Thai cookies

December 4, 2009
tags:

Bored in the kitchen? Then why not partake in the questionable art of turning a much-loved Thai main course into a highly experimental dessert.

Simon found this recipe (see here) and really, I only made them because I happened to have all the ingredients. I think it must come down to personal preferences… perhaps if you’re the kind of person who likes honey with their peanut butter, you’ll love these. I can’t quite make up my mind if I like them or not, but Simon is a fan. I’ve fiddled with the recipe a little, so this is what I did:

You’ll need:

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup butter at room temperature, divided
  • 1/2 cup crunchy or smooth peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup palm sugar
  • 1/2 cup regular sugar
  • 2 tsp powdered ginger
  • 1/8 cup shredded coconut or a dash of coconut milk
  • 2 eggs
  • Handful of thai basil and kaffir lime leaves very finely chopped

Icing

They work well with a slightly sweet coconut icing and a few more herbs tossed in.

To cook

Stir together flour, salt, powdered ginger and baking powder and set aside. Beat the butter, peanut butter, sugar and egg. Then add the coconut, herbs and dry ingredients. Stir in flour mixture until a sticky dough forms. Shape mixture into  balls and place on tray. Flatten each cookie with a fork.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until lightly browned.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Thea permalink
    December 5, 2009 2:37 am

    I LOVE it when I eat something I can’t figure out if I like or not. It’s called challenge, and for adventurous palates like ours, it is a rare thing.

    My friend makes chai cookies that challenge me because they are orange, but then you bite in they are pink (something to do with tumeric). It’s really freaky. I’ll see if he’s ready to go public with the recipe. I know he’ll be interested in yours.

    Once Chad made cinnamon scrambled eggs. That left me speahless (though I wouldn’t try it again. He liked it)

    I also remember a recipe that was unlike anything I’d had before (back in the day – 2001?), and it was probably my introduction to modern-persian (oxymoron?). It was a stack with beer-battered eggplant disks, micro-herb salad, goat cheese, all finished off with pomegranate molasses and sumac. It blew my mind. (kudos to Melbourne Chef Teage Ezard).
    (I have an insane memory for meals, Wish I could remember other stuff like that)

  2. nic permalink
    December 5, 2009 5:22 am

    needs chilli!

    • December 5, 2009 8:03 am

      yeah I think the original recipe had chilli as the garnish on the icing… again, I’m not a chilli and chocolate/sugar person. But I think I will ice the leftover cookies today and give it a go.

  3. Thea permalink
    December 6, 2009 8:07 am

    It occurred to me sometime during the night that there’s no tamarind. Isn’t that a main flavour in pad thai?
    That would be interesting in the icing…

Leave a Reply

