Skip to content

Spicy roasted pumpkin & ricotta ravioli

September 20, 2009
tags:

I first made this when I moved house earlier in the year. A friend of mine asked if there were any ‘manly’ jobs I needed help with. I told him yes there was (I needed to pull apart a piece of my kitchen) but by the time he came around I’d started making pasta so I asked him to knead the dough instead. I think he might still think I got him around just to knead the pasta.

Oh, and a soupurban original:

You will need

  • A big-ish chunk of jap pumpkin
  • 2 tsp crush coriander seeds
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seeds
  • 2 dried chillies
  • 2 tsp salt
  • pepper
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • A tub of ricotta

Pasta

  • 150 of pasta flour
  • 350g of semolina flour
  • 8 egg yolks
  • 2 eggs
  • pinch of salt

(You can use any pasta, this is a really full-on one)

To cook

Roast the pumpkin with the garlic, herbs and spices until it’s soft. Then mash it up with the ricotta and season to taste. I won’t explain how the make the pasta here, you can find lots of very descriptive recipes that will explain it better than me! You can serve it plain with olive oil, with some fresh pesto, or in a tomato sauce. It’s great with anything really!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

