Skip to content

Pumpkin & Tahini Dip

May 6, 2012
tags: ,

Usually I can’t help tweaking recipes, but this one is perfect. We’ve made it about half a dozen times for parties and everyone always asks for the recipe. I’m putting it here so I can stop emailing to people all the time! Thanks Ottolenghi!

  • A large piece of jap pumpkin
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 70g tahini paste
  • 120g Greek yoghurt
  • 2 small garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1½ tsp date syrup (or honey if you can’t find it)
  • 2 tbsp chopped coriander

Chop the pumpkin and roast with the coriander and garlic. Allow to cool then put in the blender with the tahini and yoghurt. Blend until smooth(ish). Garnish with the coriander, sesame seeds and syrup/honey.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 6:40 am

    This would indeed be soupurb, were it not for the presence of coriander.
    To those who love the stuff I cannot explain the degree of loathing I have for this herb, or the extent to which it makes me feel nauseous just remembering how I willingly put some in my mouth and chewed it on my first encounter… And, on subsequent (and, happily, infrequent) occasions when people have served me food that contains it, often thinking they’re cleverly testing my outspoken detestation, and will prove me wrong – which has never happened.
    I believe there are many like me: have actually met a good few of ‘em.
    And so I have come to wish by all the gods we ever invented that people providing recipes would acknowledge that their beloved coriander is NOT generally acceptable, and would suggest alternatives. Or would advise if the omission of it will actually matter…
    Is it cold yet, down there in the queen city of the south? – getting that way up here in Sidder-Knee…

    • May 7, 2012 5:46 pm

      Well M.R. I guess you could give parsley or fresh oregano a shot? it certainly needs a li’l something, even if coriander isn’t your thing.

      Yes, it’s starting to get rather gloomy down here (although, it’s always a little gloomy here to be fair).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

