Skip to content

Cardamom cake

February 28, 2011
tags:

This cake here, this is not cardamom cake. This is sad cake. And yes, it looks quite sad in the photo. Sad cake came about when I tried to make Simon’s mum’s really fantastic cardamom cake, but failed because I used too much freshly ground cardamom. It’s sad cake, not just because we didn’t get to enjoy it, but because I made it with our new kitchen aid (thanks Ma) and I now feel like I’ve done the cake, the kitchen aid and Simon’s mum a disservice.

But, in the expert hands of Simon’s mum,  it is a fantastic cake. I think I may have accidentally added a bit more than a teaspoon of cardamom. I also ground up my own green cardamom seeds, perhaps I should have used black ones or pre-ground. So stick to the teaspoon, and avoid green seeds!

You’ll need

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 2 cups caster sugar
  • ½ tsp vanilla/almond essence
  • 3 cups of plain flour
  • 1 tsp bi carb
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground cardamon

To cook

Mix all the wet ingredients together in a mixer, sift the dry and then mix together. Bake at 180 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes. I had to turn the oven down to 150 after about 45mins as the top was getting quite brown.

You may also like

Earl grey tea cupcakes

Lemon & mixed berry almond cake

Chocolate and banana cake


 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anthony permalink
    February 28, 2011 8:38 pm

    :(

    … :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

